LA Boys’ Hockey Earns Edward G. Watkins Invitational Tournament Title

By Jonathan Gotlib

This past weekend, the Lawrence Academy boys’ varsity hockey team competed in their second holiday tournament of the 2019-20 winter break, emerging from the Edward G. Watkins New Year’s Invitational Tournament — hosted by Cushing Academy — as champions.

With a back-and-forth final game, LA came out on top, besting Dexter Southfield School, 5-4, in the Championship game; an improved outcome for the Spartans, who lost to Dexter 3-1 in the final of the 46th Annual Groton School/Lawrence Academy Tournament, played back on December 21, and held in Groton.

Extra congratulations to LA senior Conor Lovett who was named Tournament MVP, while junior Kyle Furey and senior Holt Oliphant were named to the All-Tournament Team.

Fun fact: Lawrence Academy has now won the E.G. Watkins Tournament four times; 1996-97, 2008-09, 2016-17, and now 2019-20.